Friday, July 13, 2012

Three H-K districts ignored

Three H-K districts given the go-by..

Gulbarga got two and Yadgir one ministerial berth in Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar’s Cabinet. However, Bidar, Raichur and Koppal, the other districts of Hyderabad-Karnataka, went unrepresented.

Shettar who was sworn in as the third CM of the BJP government, gave berths to two MLAs of Gulbarga. Revu Naik Belamagi was the only Minister from Gulbarga in the Yeddyurappa and Sadananda Gowda Cabinets. Now, Shettar has chosen one more legislator Sunil Valyapure along with Belamagi.

Yeddyurappa gave representation to Raichur by giving a berth to Shivana Gowda Naik and to Koppal with Shivaraj Tangadgi.

However, Sadananda Gowda dropped them while forming his Cabinet and gave representation to Yadgir by choosing Shorapur MLA Raja Narasimha Naik (Raju Gowda). Al the former CMs overlooked Bidar.

Sunil Valyapure who for the first to become an MLA from the erstwhile Shahabad [R] constituency of Gulbarga in 2004, was offered the post of Chairman of High Power Committee on implementation of Dr Nanjundappa Committee Report by Yeddyurappa in 2010. Valyapure rejected the offer stating that he wanted a Cabinet berth.

Speaking to Express over phone, Valyapure said that as a minister he would do his best for the people, especially Gulbarga.

Valyapure clarified that he has not made any particular demand and that the CM may allot portfolios in a day or two.

Revu Naik Belamagi who represents Gulbarga Rural Constituency thanked Yeddyurappa, Sadananda Gowda and Jagadish Shettar for being accommodated in all their Cabinets. He added that he would always remain loyal to the party and his mentor Yeddyurappa.

Lingayats feel left out

No Lingayats from the Hyderabad-Karntaka region were made ministers, despite the Veerashaiva Mahasabha’s demands. Shivangouda Nayak from Devadurga and Prathapgouda Patil from Maski were expecting berths. Three MLCs of other districts were made ministers. Haveri got two berths for C M Udasi and Basavaraj Bommai. But no MLA from the district made it.

Discontent is brewing among some Lingayat legislators elected from the Hyderabad-Karnataka region. The region has as many as five MLAs who got elected from the Lingayat community, including Doddappa Gowda Naribol. Bidar, Gulbarga, Yadagir, Raichur, Koppal and Bellary districts has sent as many as five Lingayat MLAs. The decision of the BJP high command not to induct any leaders from the community may hurt the electoral prospects of the party in the upcoming elections, senior leaders from the Lingayat community told Express.