Sunday, March 22, 2015

State Government Reconstitutes Rural Water Supply Task Force Committees

The state government has reconstituted rural water supply task force committees involving more public representatives at the Assembly constituency level to tackle the drinking water crisis during summer, according to highly-placed sources in the Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Department.

The sources said circulars have been sent to all the authorities concerned on March 7 intimating reconstitution of the committees.

The circular stated that MLAs of the Assembly constituencies would be the chairman of the committees while executive officer of the taluk panchayat would be the member secretary. The MLC concerned would be its member.

The public representative/officer invited by the chairman of the Task Force Committee, tahsildar, geologist of the Mines and Geology Department or the officer nominated by him, Assistant Executive Engineer of the Rural Water Supply and Sanitation Department and Assistant Executive Engineer of GESCOM would be invitees to the committees.

Earlier, the only elected representative in the task force committee was the Member of Legislative Assembly and the remaining members were only officers, sources added.

The committees should hold meetings immediately and prepare action plan to combat drinking water crisis during summer. Instead of preparing new plans, the committees, in coordination with the DCs, should take steps to supply drinking water through tankers.

Kalaburagi ZP Deputy Secretary Usuf has confirmed the receipt of the circular a couple of days ago.

The state government has released Rs 85.89 crore to various ZPs to take up emergency drinking water supply works considering the depleting water table in many districts. In the official order issued on March 13, which was received by the ZPs on Monday, it has been stated that the government had released Rs 85.89 crore to 189 Assembly constituencies.

As per the allocation done to different districts, Belagavi has received highest allocation of Rs 7.65 crore.

The government has provided Rs 3.76 crore to Mysuru, Rs 3.75 crore to Kalaburagi, Rs 3.60 crore each to Vijayapura, Davangere and Ballari, Rs 3.25 crore to Hassan, Rs 3.15 crore each to Bagalkot and Mandya, Rs 3.00 crore each to Bengaluru (Urban) and Bidar, Rs 2.95 crore to Kolar, Rs 2.80 crore to Dakshina Kannada, Rs 2.70 crore each to Chitradurga and Haveri, Rs 2.50 crore to Chikkaballapura, Rs 2.25 crore to Koppal, Rs 2.00 crore to Chikkamagaluru, Rs 1.88 crore to Dharwad, Rs 1.80 crore to Chamarajanagar, Rs 1.90 crore to Bengaluru (Rural) and Rs 80 lakh to Kodagu districts, sources added.

" Twitter: #BidarInfo (@BidarInfo) "