Thursday, July 25, 2013

New president for Bidar ZP

Amlan Aditya Biswas, Regional Commissioner; P.C Jaffer, Deputy Commissioner; and Ujjwal Kumar Ghosh, Chief Executive Officer of the Bidar Zilla Panchayat with Santoshamma Pundalikappa in Bidar on Monday.

Santoshamma Pundalikappa was elected president of the Bidar Zilla Panchayat here on Monday.

Ms. Pundalikappa was elected on a Bharatiya Janata Party ticket, but has switched sides to the Karnataka Janata Paksha (KJP) hence.

She got 19 votes against the BJP’s Deepika Sachin Rathod who managed to get only 10 votes. Two of the 31 member-panchayat were absent.

Those voting for Ms. Pundalikappa included eight members of the BJP who have joined the KJP along with six independents, four members of the Janata Dal (Secular) and one Congress member.

The president’s post is reserved for a woman from the Scheduled Castes. Ms Rathod had been voted out in a no-confidence motion last month. Amlan Aditya Biswas, Regional Commissioner; P.C. Jaffer, Deputy Commissioner, and Ujjwal Kumar Ghosh, chief executive officer, were present.